Spot Insurance Employee Reviews

What is a Trusted Employer?
4.8
Inclusion
4.6
Purpose
4.4
Growth
4.7
Flexibility
4.3
Feedback
4.5

Overall

See How Ratings Vary By:

Age Breakdown

Inclusion Purpose Growth Flexibility Feedback Overall
29 and younger 4.9 4.7 4.5 4.7 4.3 4.6
30 - 39 years old 4.8 4.8 4.8 4.8 4.8 4.8
40 - 49 years old 5.0 5.0 5.0 5.0 5.0 5.0
50 - 59 years old
60 and over
Unspecified 4.6 4.4 4.0 4.6 3.9 4.3

Gender Breakdown

Inclusion Purpose Growth Flexibility Feedback Overall
Male 5.0 4.5 4.4 4.6 4.4 4.6
Female 4.8 4.9 4.8 4.9 4.6 4.8
Non-binary/third gender
Other
Unspecified 4.6 4.4 4.0 4.6 3.9 4.3

Ethnicity Breakdown

Inclusion Purpose Growth Flexibility Feedback Overall
White 4.8 4.8 4.5 4.7 4.4 4.6
Black / African-American 5.0 4.7 5.0 5.0 5.0 4.9
Asian / Asian-American 5.0 4.0 4.5 5.0 4.5 4.6
Hispanic / Latinx 5.0 5.0 5.0 5.0 5.0 5.0
Middle Eastern
Native American
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander
Other 5.0 5.0 5.0 5.0 5.0 5.0
Unspecified 4.6 4.4 4.0 4.6 3.9 4.3

Orientation Breakdown

Inclusion Purpose Growth Flexibility Feedback Overall
Heterosexual / Straight 4.9 4.7 4.6 4.8 4.5 4.7
LGBTQ 5.0 5.0 5.0 5.0 4.7 4.9
Other
Unspecified 4.6 4.4 4.0 4.6 3.9 4.3

Caregiver Breakdown

Inclusion Purpose Growth Flexibility Feedback Overall
Yes, I am 5.0 5.0 5.0 5.0 5.0 5.0
No, I am not 4.8 4.7 4.5 4.7 4.4 4.6
Unspecified 4.6 4.4 4.0 4.6 3.9 4.3

Job Function Breakdown

Inclusion Purpose Growth Flexibility Feedback Overall
Legal/Finance/Accounting
Operations/Administration 5.0 5.0 5.0 5.0 5.0 5.0
Engineering/QA
Customer Support 5.0 4.8 5.0 5.0 5.0 5.0
Program/Project Management 5.0 5.0 5.0 5.0 5.0 5.0
Design/UX 5.0 5.0 5.0 5.0 5.0 5.0
Data Science
Marketing 4.7 4.3 3.7 5.0 3.3 4.2
Sales/BD 4.7 4.7 3.7 4.3 4.0 4.3
HR/Recruiting 4.8 5.0 5.0 5.0 5.0 5.0
Product Management 5.0 4.6 4.8 4.4 4.4 4.6
Other
Unspecified 4.6 4.4 4.0 4.6 3.9 4.3

193 Ratings by 39 Reviewers

4.8
5 Stars: 30 4 Stars: 9 3 Stars: 0 2 Stars: 0 1 Stars: 0

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

There are so many smiles and people ready-and-willing to help one another out!

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

The onboarding team does a great job of welcoming new employees.

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

Extremely easy to talk to another coworker, even if they're on another team. Never felt scared to slack someone and always knew there would be honesty.

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

From the top down, everyone is on the same level in terms of approachability. You never have to feel as though you are intruding on someone's time when you ask for a meeting with them, and everyone is genuinely interested and excited to speak with you when you have ideas or questions about anything - work related or not.

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

Everyone is excited to meet you whether in person at our weekly breakfasts or on Zoom calls.

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

I've never felt like my input wasn't welcomed and valued.

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

Spot appears to not hire based on anything but quality of work with little to no bias involved in any matter, which I appreciate.

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

Highly tailored onboarding process, with a specific focus on inclusion and working norms

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

Everyone is accepted for who they are. Spot went out of their way to work with me through my pregnancy and transition to part time and has embraced my new schedule and intricacies of being a new mom with a baby!

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

5 is for perfection. Spot is the most welcoming company I've ever worked for and makes a true effort to be inclusive.

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

There are lots of reasons for my marking 5 hear, but the most poignant reason is that leadership, be it CEO COO, directors, managers, etc., honestly and genuinely pay respect to everyone at Spot, on an equal playing field.

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

Spot's team is so warm and authentic to work with. While it is currently a fully remote environment, they leverage tools like slack and zoom to ensure new team members are welcomed into the org and that we celebrate birthdays and announcements as a team.

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

I think people feel comfortable being human. You need to go to a doctor's appointment, you need to take care of a sick child, you need a day because you're under the weather, that's ok. The team rallies together to fill the gap.

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

Diverse leadership team

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

Everyone does their best to introduce themselves and welcome new hires to the team.

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

Spot's company culture is exactly as described when you are onboarded to the team. They treat you with respect, clear communication, and welcome any and all questions. They want you to be bold, ask questions, and have a voice.

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

Warmly welcomed on my first day and everyday thereafter by all levels of coworkers!

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

I got hired on with a group of people and even though there were a few people each of us received a warm welcome from the people that already worked here. And since that has only continued, each time someone gets hired, the whole team works to make sure that they are welcomed and have the support that they need.

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

I have the opportunity to work with people from all across the US in a collaborative work environment where we all value one another's input.

By Public Reviewer, 2 months ago

By Public Reviewer, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

Displaying 19 of 39 Ratings

4.6
5 Stars: 28 4 Stars: 5 3 Stars: 6 2 Stars: 0 1 Stars: 0

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

This company is filled with people who are passionate about what they do! Energy and excitement is an understatement!

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

Spot is here to spread awareness of affordable injury coverage and help people live their lives without fear of an injury.

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

The company does a great job of bringing us all together even if we're all virtual at the moment. There is the weekly breakfast in Austin and is open to anyone in the company who is in town and virtual breakfast. I feel the company actually cares about me as a person and human being and I never once felt like I was just a number or just a worker.

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

Money is an integral part of any business, especially to a start-up. Without it, we would have no ability to all be here working towards a common goal. That common goal is, at its core, helping people. The statistics make it clear why we are doing what we are doing, and especially when you consider the business we are in, we are very clearly attempting to offer services that everyone needs and deserves access to, but that not everyone respects the value of. We are working to make that value abundantly clear, and offer it in a way that benefits every single one of our customers.

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

The company's core values are evident in the people it recruits, and the day to day practices.

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

Spot seems interested in not just being a functional operation, but also being a source of help to people who may not be able to afford higher cost insurance.

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

Spot is driven towards a greater mission of expanding access to medical care for those without traditional employer benefits

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

High focus on a diverse and equitable work space in a quality environment

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

Spot exists to keep people out of crippling medical debt. I’ve had the pleasure of speaking to dozens and dozens of customers and have firsthand how we have changed their lives!

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

Beyond making money, Spot is changing lives with its product by enabling people to enjoy their hobbies and lives without the stress or fear of crippling medical debt. It feels great to be a part of that.

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

I joined Spot to support my sporting community, and that's what I'm doing

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

Spot's leadership team continually shares their vision to change the landscape of health coverage because it comes from a very personal space and desire to make insurance affordable and accessible.

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

Part of why I wanted to work for Spot was because I believe the product we're offering can help people live more fulfilling lives, with less worry about medical costs.

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

Very revenue focused

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

Spot's sole mission is the customer. Their experience and how they can feel like they are taken care of is Spot's top priority.

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

It's clear that Spot genuinely cares about disrupting the insurance industry and making medical bills much easier to deal with - for everyone.

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

The entire reason that the company was created was to help people, the issues that we are combating are real issues that affect people in the United States every day, and because everyone that I have come across in the company believes in what we are doing here everyone is willing to give it their all.

By Public Reviewer, 2 months ago

By Public Reviewer, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

Displaying 17 of 39 Ratings

4.4
5 Stars: 26 4 Stars: 5 3 Stars: 4 2 Stars: 4 1 Stars: 0

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

I've never felt more able to draw my own future than at Spot. <3

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

Spot encourages open communication and honesty. I like that I can express my thoughts and ideas regarding my position and get constructive feedback that will help me grow.

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

I started as an intern in between my first and second year of graduate school, and Spot offered to keep me on even while I was in classes. They were super accommodating of my schedule and were happy to work around it. Even after going from a full time internship to a part time status, I was offered a full time role with similar flexibility while I finish up grad school. I don't know that there are many companies who would offer employees that opportunity, who respect my goals outside of work but also see the value of my education to the overall business and team.

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

I've always felt empowered to explore my areas of interest, even if it means focusing efforts not within my job description.

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

Spot seemingly welcomes people changing positions within the company and moving up and on.

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

I am continuously challenged to take on stretch responsibilities

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

I know there’s a path forward for me should I ever want to transition back to full time

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

Spot is very proactive about making sure you're in a position you're comfortable with and excited to grow into

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

From my first interaction during the interview process, to this very day, my career goals have been a topic of discussion and a clear path has been created to help me get there.

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

curiosity is highly encouraged, even if it challenges standards and norms. Curiosity didn't kill the cat, it helped the cat grow.

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

As a start up, there is a lot of opportunity to grow and try new roles.

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

In the short time I've been here, I've worked on things that I didn't have much experience with. If you're willing to roll up your sleeves and learn, you're given those opportunities. My boss is also incredible with ensuring I have a plan for growth.

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

I'm really not sure.

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

I am currently working on a project that is outside my job role so that I may transition to a role that aligns more with my professional goals. This has never happened in any other company I have been a part of. It's amazing.

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

Very early on it was made clear to me that there are lots of opportunities to grow at Spot. Within the first few days of working here, I met with my manager and we solidified long and short-term goals and made a plan on how to achieve!

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

Ever since I was hired, the growth opportunity has been emphasized. Since I was able to start so early in the growth stage, there is no doubt in my mind that as long as I invest myself into Spot, Spot will invest in me, and help me grow in whatever ways possible.

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

While rapidly growing, Spot puts the growth trajectory of its employees first.

By Public Reviewer, 2 months ago

By Public Reviewer, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

Displaying 17 of 39 Ratings

4.7
5 Stars: 29 4 Stars: 6 3 Stars: 3 2 Stars: 0 1 Stars: 0

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

It's a very busy and exciting culture, so work-life balance isn't as great as it could be, however people seem to be very respectful of one another's weekends.

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

I was able to take the time I needed when a family member had passed suddenly and I didn't need to explain or fight for the time off. They understood that I would not be prepared mentally to work especially during that time.

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

The flexible work schedule allows me enough time to get all my work done, but does not question how I am getting it done. I can hit all of my meetings, but still take time for myself throughout the day, and can work at whatever time I want to get my responsibilities completed.

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

Unlimited PTO

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

Work is important, and so is personal time. It's super clear that there's a high value placed on personal time and personal growth.

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

I haven't really utilized it yet, but Spot appears to have no issues granting time off when needed.

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

Spot is a fast paced work environment typical of a startup, meaning you are constantly needed in your role, this can be challenging to allow for employees to disconnect

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

Communication with managers make it a comfortable setting to take time off.

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

Always. When my dog died I was essentially forced to take two weeks off to spend time with her and let myself and my family grieve. It was time with my pup that I will forever cherish.

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

Flexible/unlimited time off policy & a leadership team that both encourages you do actually take time off and leads by example by taking time away, themselves. Be it time for an appointment, sick days or a vacation.

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

The leadership team trusts the broader company to get work done, a flexible schedule is one of the key reasons I am here.

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

Spot encourages us to put our well-being in front of our jobs. If I'm sick or have something personal going on, my leadership team always asks if I need to take a day or to take some time to take a step back and deal with what's going on.

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

Spot and its leaders understand that life can and does happen. They are understanding, respectful, and treat you like an adult.

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

With our Relaxed/Unlimited PTO policy, I feel empowered by the leaders here to take time for me and my family. This makes me excited to take time off AND come back to work!

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

So far, I have not been denied time off of work no matter what it has been for. It is especially impressive to me because some have been on relatively short notice. I was also provided two flex days until my vacation days kicked in, which was super kind in my opinion!

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

I've never seen a time when my PTO or the PTO of my colleagues has ever been questioned or denied. Spot allows us to care for ourselves and the people we love most as needed!

By Public Reviewer, 2 months ago

By Public Reviewer, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

Displaying 16 of 38 Ratings

4.3
5 Stars: 21 4 Stars: 9 3 Stars: 6 2 Stars: 2 1 Stars: 0

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

Everyone is always there to lend a helping hand and give feedback on improvements and success.

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

I'm able to speak freely with people in the company without fear of being judged. The feedback received is there to help me grow and not to diminish my work.

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

People are understanding of my schedule, but direct with what their expectations are. Even if I am not doing things correctly, people are understanding that we are all learning and the company is growing and changing frequently. We are all co-collaborators in the growth of this company, and offer our own unique skillsets to the team.

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

My manager is approachable, honest, and wants me to succeed.

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

I have only had good experiences with the leadership at spot. I know they want what is best for me personally and professionally.

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

I receive direct feedback when I've done well and when there is opportunity for me to grow. I appreciate that the company is scaling quickly and always looking for ways to ensure employees can grow with them.

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

At times, I've received empathetic valuable feedback and other times I have not.

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

I have a clear understanding of where I can improve, how I can improve, and even have the support I need to excel in aspects of performance that may need to be worked on.

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

My coworkers are really good at giving actionable feedback when I need it most. They actually take the time to listen to the issue, digest, and give relatable advice back to me. I couldn't feel more supported here.

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

I said in my interview that communication is one of the most important things in a company, and Spot realizes that and actually follows through, I have weekly meetings with the leadership in my department, huddles with my team, and reviews with my manager. In all of these, we have met and talked about the best ways to improve the efficiency of the team and department & I have been able to use that in my day to day and become a better employee.

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

Spot offers a bi-annual review period in addition to a 30-day review upon being hired.

By Public Reviewer, 2 months ago

By Public Reviewer, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

Displaying 11 of 38 Ratings

Help Make JobSage Even Better.

We're just getting started. We’d love to hear what you think so far and how we can do better.