IBM Employee Reviews

4.1
Inclusion
3.9
Purpose
3.7
Growth
4.3
Flexibility
3.2
Feedback
3.8

Overall

See How Ratings Vary By:

Age Breakdown

Inclusion Purpose Growth Flexibility Feedback Overall
29 and younger
30 - 39 years old 3.0 2.3 2.7 3.3 2.3 2.7
40 - 49 years old 4.5 4.5 4.0 5.0 5.0 4.6
50 - 59 years old
60 and over 4.0 4.0 3.5 4.0 2.5 3.6
Unspecified 4.3 4.3 4.3 4.5 3.5 4.2

Gender Breakdown

Inclusion Purpose Growth Flexibility Feedback Overall
Male 4.2 4.0 3.6 4.8 3.2 4.0
Female 3.5 3.0 3.0 3.3 2.8 3.1
Non-binary/third gender
Other
Unspecified 4.3 4.3 4.3 4.5 3.5 4.2

Ethnicity Breakdown

Inclusion Purpose Growth Flexibility Feedback Overall
White 3.7 3.0 3.2 3.8 2.7 3.3
Black / African-American 4.5 5.0 4.0 5.0 5.0 4.7
Asian / Asian-American
Hispanic / Latinx
Middle Eastern
Native American
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander
Other
Unspecified 4.3 4.3 4.3 4.5 3.5 4.2

Orientation Breakdown

Inclusion Purpose Growth Flexibility Feedback Overall
Heterosexual / Straight 4.0 3.7 3.3 4.2 2.7 3.6
LGBTQ
Other
Unspecified 4.3 4.3 4.3 4.5 3.5 4.2

Caregiver Breakdown

Inclusion Purpose Growth Flexibility Feedback Overall
Yes, I am 4.3 4.3 3.8 4.5 3.5 4.1
No, I am not 3.3 2.8 2.8 3.5 2.0 2.9
Unspecified 4.3 4.3 4.3 4.5 3.5 4.2

Job Function Breakdown

Inclusion Purpose Growth Flexibility Feedback Overall
Legal/Finance/Accounting
Operations/Administration
Engineering/QA
Customer Support 5.0 4.0 4.0 5.0 4.0 4.4
Program/Project Management
Design/UX 5.0 4.5 4.0 5.0 5.0 4.7
Data Science 4.0 5.0 4.0 5.0 5.0 4.6
Marketing 2.7 2.0 2.3 3.0 1.0 2.2
Sales/BD
HR/Recruiting
Product Management 5.0 5.0 4.0 3.0 4.0 4.2
Other
Unspecified 4.3 4.3 4.3 4.5 3.5 4.2

75 Ratings by 15 Reviewers

4.1
5 Stars: 7 4 Stars: 4 3 Stars: 2 2 Stars: 2 1 Stars: 0

By Public Reviewer, 6 months ago

It was a family. I don’t think it exists anymore.

By Public Reviewer, 6 months ago

Prior to 1993, it was an inclusive, welcoming place to work. It was a Thomas Watson company. A place where people respected each other. A family oriented company. IBM was a leader in Human Resource Management.

By Public Reviewer, 6 months ago

It used to be, I don’t know about now!

By Public Reviewer, 6 months ago

I was taught very early on in my career, the importance of diversity & inclusion

By Public Reviewer, 9 months ago

as an african-american man I have had less inclusive workplaces and interactions than my current situaiton

By Public Reviewer, 10 months ago

Prides itself on being an inclusive environment where you can work with a diverse set of people

By Public Reviewer, 6 months ago

By Public Reviewer, 6 months ago

By Public Reviewer, 6 months ago

By Public Reviewer, 6 months ago

By Public Reviewer, 6 months ago

By Public Reviewer, More than 1 year ago

By Public Reviewer, More than 1 year ago

By Public Reviewer, More than 1 year ago

By Public Reviewer, More than 1 year ago

Displaying 6 of 15 Ratings

3.9
5 Stars: 7 4 Stars: 3 3 Stars: 3 2 Stars: 0 1 Stars: 2

By Public Reviewer, 6 months ago

I have no clue what IBM does anymore.

By Public Reviewer, 6 months ago

Prior to 1993 its purpose was to provide a quality, defect product and to put your customer first.

By Public Reviewer, 6 months ago

I am sure they do. I don’t know what they do anymore!

By Public Reviewer, 9 months ago

chaning the world via technology is among our mission

By Public Reviewer, 10 months ago

Great opportunity to work on tech that fundamentally improves lives

By Public Reviewer, 6 months ago

By Public Reviewer, 6 months ago

By Public Reviewer, 6 months ago

By Public Reviewer, 6 months ago

By Public Reviewer, 6 months ago

By Public Reviewer, 6 months ago

By Public Reviewer, More than 1 year ago

By Public Reviewer, More than 1 year ago

By Public Reviewer, More than 1 year ago

By Public Reviewer, More than 1 year ago

Displaying 5 of 15 Ratings

3.7
5 Stars: 4 4 Stars: 6 3 Stars: 2 2 Stars: 3 1 Stars: 0

By Public Reviewer, 6 months ago

I was downsized 55.

By Public Reviewer, 6 months ago

My time with IBM was prior to 1993. At the time I was there opportunity existed. I really don't know today. It is a different company.

By Public Reviewer, 6 months ago

Downsized at 55. No raise after that.

By Public Reviewer, 6 months ago

I had growth opportunities & focused on being successful on those projects to build a positive reputation within the company

By Public Reviewer, 9 months ago

network, projects, learning, colleagues, more

By Public Reviewer, 10 months ago

Traditionally not great but there’s a renewed focus on career progression & growth

By Public Reviewer, 6 months ago

By Public Reviewer, 6 months ago

By Public Reviewer, 6 months ago

By Public Reviewer, 6 months ago

By Public Reviewer, 6 months ago

By Public Reviewer, More than 1 year ago

By Public Reviewer, More than 1 year ago

By Public Reviewer, More than 1 year ago

By Public Reviewer, More than 1 year ago

Displaying 6 of 15 Ratings

4.3
5 Stars: 10 4 Stars: 1 3 Stars: 2 2 Stars: 2 1 Stars: 0

By Public Reviewer, 6 months ago

I was fired as a supplemental for turning down the first: call in 33 years.

By Public Reviewer, 6 months ago

I can't speak to today. Prior to 1993, it was difficult to get time off.

By Public Reviewer, 6 months ago

No job, lots of time off.

By Public Reviewer, 6 months ago

I was just assigned a new manager & the same time I had to step up to manage an end of life event. He gave me personal time during that period of time

By Public Reviewer, 9 months ago

covid19, racial injustices, family time, rejuvination before more work

By Public Reviewer, 10 months ago

Employees are given a great deal of flexibility over their time

By Public Reviewer, 6 months ago

By Public Reviewer, 6 months ago

By Public Reviewer, 6 months ago

By Public Reviewer, 6 months ago

By Public Reviewer, 6 months ago

By Public Reviewer, More than 1 year ago

By Public Reviewer, More than 1 year ago

By Public Reviewer, More than 1 year ago

By Public Reviewer, More than 1 year ago

Displaying 6 of 15 Ratings

3.2
5 Stars: 5 4 Stars: 2 3 Stars: 3 2 Stars: 1 1 Stars: 4

By Public Reviewer, 6 months ago

Only through virtual response machines.

By Public Reviewer, 6 months ago

Prior to 1993, feedback was both written and verbal. Written was hand written appraisals. You received feedback that would help you meet your goals and the goals of the company. Feedback was actionable. I don't think empathetic was a word used or expressed during my time at IBM,

By Public Reviewer, 6 months ago

I don’t know if there’s an IBMer left in town. No feedback.

By Public Reviewer, 6 months ago

My manager was direct in both positive & negative feedback

By Public Reviewer, 9 months ago

I have transparent constructive chats with my "career commitee" team that balance both personal and professional aspects of my life

By Public Reviewer, 10 months ago

The company is very focused on radical candor & feedback

By Public Reviewer, 6 months ago

By Public Reviewer, 6 months ago

By Public Reviewer, 6 months ago

By Public Reviewer, 6 months ago

By Public Reviewer, 6 months ago

By Public Reviewer, More than 1 year ago

By Public Reviewer, More than 1 year ago

By Public Reviewer, More than 1 year ago

By Public Reviewer, More than 1 year ago

Displaying 6 of 15 Ratings

Help Make JobSage Even Better.

We're just getting started. We’d love to hear what you think so far and how we can do better.