CareerPlug Employee Reviews

What is a Trusted Employer?
4.8
Inclusion
4.8
Purpose
4.8
Growth
4.8
Flexibility
4.8
Feedback
4.8

Overall

See How Ratings Vary By:

Age Breakdown

Inclusion Purpose Growth Flexibility Feedback Overall
29 and younger 4.8 4.9 5.0 4.9 4.8 4.9
30 - 39 years old 4.6 4.8 4.8 4.9 4.8 4.8
40 - 49 years old 5.0 4.8 4.8 4.5 4.7 4.8
50 - 59 years old 5.0 5.0 5.0 4.0 5.0 4.8
60 and over
Unspecified 4.7 4.5 4.7 4.7 4.7 4.6

Gender Breakdown

Inclusion Purpose Growth Flexibility Feedback Overall
Male 5.0 5.0 4.8 4.8 4.8 4.9
Female 4.7 4.8 4.9 4.8 4.7 4.8
Non-binary/third gender 4.5 5.0 5.0 4.5 5.0 4.8
Other
Unspecified 4.7 4.5 4.7 4.7 4.7 4.6

Ethnicity Breakdown

Inclusion Purpose Growth Flexibility Feedback Overall
White 4.7 4.9 4.9 4.9 4.9 4.9
Black / African-American 4.5 4.5 5.0 5.0 4.5 4.7
Asian / Asian-American 5.0 5.0 5.0 5.0 5.0 5.0
Hispanic / Latinx 4.8 4.8 5.0 4.8 4.8 4.9
Middle Eastern 5.0 5.0 5.0 5.0 5.0 5.0
Native American
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander
Other
Unspecified 4.7 4.5 4.7 4.7 4.7 4.6

Orientation Breakdown

Inclusion Purpose Growth Flexibility Feedback Overall
Heterosexual / Straight 4.8 4.8 4.9 4.7 4.7 4.8
LGBTQ 4.7 4.9 4.9 4.9 4.9 4.8
Other
Unspecified 4.7 4.5 4.7 4.7 4.7 4.6

Caregiver Breakdown

Inclusion Purpose Growth Flexibility Feedback Overall
Yes, I am 5.0 5.0 5.0 4.8 5.0 5.0
No, I am not 4.7 4.8 4.9 4.8 4.7 4.8
Unspecified 4.7 4.5 4.7 4.7 4.7 4.6

Job Function Breakdown

Inclusion Purpose Growth Flexibility Feedback Overall
Legal/Finance/Accounting
Operations/Administration 5.0 4.5 5.0 5.0 4.5 4.8
Engineering/QA 5.0 5.0 5.0 4.7 4.7 4.9
Customer Support 5.0 4.8 4.8 4.3 4.7 4.7
Program/Project Management
Design/UX
Data Science
Marketing 4.6 4.9 5.0 5.0 4.9 4.9
Sales/BD 4.7 4.7 4.7 5.0 4.7 4.7
HR/Recruiting 4.7 5.0 5.0 4.7 5.0 4.9
Product Management 4.5 5.0 4.5 5.0 5.0 4.8
Other
Unspecified 4.7 4.5 4.7 4.7 4.7 4.6

166 Ratings by 34 Reviewers

4.8
5 Stars: 26 4 Stars: 8 3 Stars: 0 2 Stars: 0 1 Stars: 0

By Public Reviewer, 2 months ago

Welcoming is an understatement. CP tries to ensure everyone is seen, heard, understood, and cared for from day one. Not perfect, but as close to it as I've seen in my career.

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

I'm transnitioning MtF, and was forward about that as early as my cover letter. All of leadership has treated me like a normal human being - no overly ingratiating / othering support, and no friction either. Pronouns everywhere, a couple She/Theys. Love it.

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

I know CareerPlug's leadership team is doing a lot of work behind the scenes for DEI, but clear action plans haven't been communicated to the rest of the company yet. DEI trainings and workshops are great first steps, but there is a lot more work to be done. Leadership seems to be aware of this, so my hope is that they'll have some solid DEI initiatives to present to the company later this year.

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

More recent inclusion efforts have happened, but it was a bit overdue. DEI trainings could be more consistent and it would be nice to see the people that seemingly need it the most actually IN those trainings.

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

95% of CareerPlug's employees are great people who are wonderful to work with. The fact that the company is more than 15 years old and just getting started with DEI and pay transparency in the last year or so is a bit disappointing. There's a lot more I'd like to see here.

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

everyone is genuinely kind, even in a remote environment

By Public Reviewer, 2 months ago

CareerPlug is definitely the most diverse company of its size I've worked for, and is a very warm, tolerant, and generous environment from day one.

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

It's been a very warm and welcoming environment in the year I've been here for all employees, and issues of inclusion and welcoming have stemmed more on individual (rather than systemic) situations. There's been active effort to be more inclusive and aware as well

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

CareerPlug is committed to diversity, equity, and inclusion efforts. We have DEI training seminars where we bring in outside experts to educate us on how to be actively anti-racist in the workplace, which people here genuinely appreciate. We all want to learn together!

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

CareerPlug is super welcoming and working hard to become more inclusive across the board.

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

It's a very welcoming environment with supportive colleagues.

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

They have regular trainings on diversity and inclusion, as well as having a management team that reflects these core values.

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

Truly listens to the voices and needs of the teams and seeks them out for decisions. Significant effort being shown at Leadership level to advance all DEI progress, even though it's already highly inclusive.

By Public Reviewer, 11 months ago

CareerPlug posts job opportunities on job boards that target diverse candidates.

By Public Reviewer, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

Displaying 14 of 34 Ratings

4.8
5 Stars: 27 4 Stars: 5 3 Stars: 1 2 Stars: 0 1 Stars: 0

By Public Reviewer, 2 months ago

Making a real impact on the world by helping managers of essential workers attract, hire, onboard, develop, and grow their employee. Helping turn jobs into careers. Giving back via multiple areas of philanthropy. As well as caring for the earth with Green initiatives/involvement.

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

Overall, CareerPlug is a company focused on making hiring easier for those that are not full-time HR folks. I've been here going on 5 years and we have gone through a lot of transition, but the core focus has always been our clients/customers.

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

Some days it feels like the company cares TOO much about its employees.

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

While CareerPlug has a purpose in writing that is beyond just making money, and donates to honorable initiatives, you do feel the underlying pressure that growing revenue is the MOST important to higher up leadership.

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

CareerPlug invests in employee growth and development. CareerPlug gives back by matching employee charitable donations dollar for dollar.

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

Employees seem to genuinely care about helping employers (our clients) make good hires.

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

CareerPlug really values its clients and their hiring needs. PSMs, Sales, and the Support Team are all driven in providing the best service to clients

By Public Reviewer, 2 months ago

Having our work impact the hiring market for both business owners and jobseekers addresses one of the central parts of every adults life (work) and making it better for both sides is awesome

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

The company lives by their core values and they're at the heart of every decision the company makes! Everyone is passionate about making a positive change in the world, giving back, and/or sustainability practices.

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

We have a purpose to empower people to reach their potential and talk about it frequently.

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

We recite our core mission, focus, and values in our team meetings to keep us aligned: empowering people to reach their potential by making it easier to hire and develop the right people. We make sure not to deviate from that mission when goal-setting.

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

You really feel as if your job matters in helping develop people.

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

We all value the relationships we make here at CareerPlug. Those relationships cultivate outside of the relationships we make with our colleagues. We also value the relationships we have with our partners as well.

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

It seems that the purpose is to change the work culture and make it a better experience for employers and job seekers. CareerPlug not only sells a software but the expertise to make an impact in the job world.

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

When the pandemic first shut everything down in March of 2020, CareerPlug proactively offered clients the ability to put their accounts on hold until they could reopen.

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

Small business jobs make or break the economy. The work we do is really important to people and the country.

By Public Reviewer, 11 months ago

CareerPlug tries to give back by matching charity donations by employees, donating a percent of profits to charity, and planting a tree for the first hire made by every new client.

By Public Reviewer, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

Displaying 17 of 33 Ratings

4.8
5 Stars: 28 4 Stars: 5 3 Stars: 0 2 Stars: 0 1 Stars: 0

By Public Reviewer, 2 months ago

My personal growth is important to my boss, and it is not a fluke. CP's special sauce is that we focus on helping our employees reach their dreams! Be it via skill and career dev or running programs to help folks buy their first homes.

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

I've personally grown within CareerPlug and progressing my career alike. Opportunities to surface and tackle process gaps has allowed me to be in the position I am in now.

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

"Keep Growing" is literally one of our tag lines. A personal growth plan, both in and out of work, is literally required as part of your weekly 1 on 1s with your boss.

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

Answering this based purely on personal experience, yes I seemingly have a ton of growth opportunity. However, it is frustrating that the velocity in which some people have moved up is severely more rapid than anyone else when they seemingly haven't proven their capability to handle the higher capacity/workload/responsibility.

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

If an employee is smart and a hard worker, there are ways to move up at CareerPlug, and CareerPlug is loyal to its employees. However, because it is a smaller company, not everyone will find a role that they want to grow into here.

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

My managers have been very supportive about me exploring working on different teams to help me grow professionally

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

CareerPlug is currently in the process of making sure that each of its employees has a growth plan so they know how they can move up in the company. But they also make sure we have the opportunities to grow as people, not just employees. We can further our learning or earn certifications, get to know our coworkers better, and have to make time to set goals for our personal lives that CareerPlug values and honors!

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

Definitely! I've had the opportunity to build my career here and have had upward mobility throughout my tenure.

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

I've already been promoted to a senior role within a year of being hired. Most people at CareerPlug have a similar story of advancing their roles within the company whenever the team grows. Managers at CareerPlug really do walk the walk and promote from within before they look to outside hires.

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

CareerPlug is supportive and embracing of your growth within and outside of the company. Your growth as a person is what they put first.

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

CP is invested in your personal and professional growth. They really value promoting within and want each employee to excel, even if that means outside of CareerPlug.

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

A core value is to keep growing and CareerPlug tries hard to create a growth opportunity. Where it needs to be better is to hire and train people managers to be better coaches so that "growth" conversations don't just become a to-do task but genuine care about people.

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

A major part of my supervisor's job is mentoring me and helping me grow in whatever areas I have an interest in, whether it within my department, in another department or in creating a new role.

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

It's part of our core values. We live it and breathe it. The number of stories of career growth within the company are beyond what I've ever seen.

By Public Reviewer, 11 months ago

The company regularly promotes from within rather than pursuing outside hires when possible.

By Public Reviewer, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Public Reviewer, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

Displaying 15 of 33 Ratings

4.8
5 Stars: 27 4 Stars: 5 3 Stars: 0 2 Stars: 1 1 Stars: 0

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

Pretty flexible overall with PTO requests.

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

Unlimited PTO, with a 10 day yearly PTO minimum - I've never once gotten pushback on a PTO request.

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

When CareerPlug says you can work from anywhere, they really mean it. If you want to travel across the country and work from a campervan, go for it! As long as you have internet and are getting your work done, it doesn't matter where you are located.

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

I have never had a problem taking off whenever I need to. I know the support team struggles with this one the most.

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

For a long time, it was hard to take time off work at CareerPlug because there was little duplication of tasks. Now that they've invested in hiring more employees (within the last year or so), it's much easier to take time off. I know that for members of our support team, that's not always the case, but I haven't experienced it.

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

whenever i share a personal struggle/life unexpectancy, my manager encourages me to take time off. i try to give a notice when i can though, as my personal preference

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

CareerPlug is very serious about respecting its employees as PEOPLE. And that means sometimes people have issues or personal things come up; they're very understanding. We have an unlimited PTO policy at the company and the employees are respectful enough not to abuse that privilege.

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

We have Unlimited PTO and we use it. There's a strong commitment to work/life balance.

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

We have unlimited PTO and HR makes sure people take the minimum days off per year. My manager has always been flexible with approving my days off, even if it's with very short advance notice. We're also permanently remote, so we can work from anywhere.

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

Very flexible PTO benefits

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

Work-life balance is one of the biggest areas that needs to be improved. Folks, especially in leadership positions, are overstretched, constantly burned out, and work 50-60 hours per week. Unlimited PTO is great unless when you take off to come back even more stressed because the work just doubled.

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

I am in a customer-facing role, so there are more restrictions about taking time off due the fact we coordinate with coworkers. That said, when I was hired and asked to take off 2 weeks after 5 months of employment, it was readily approved.

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

Minimum PTO with unlimited policy. If you cover your critical work, PTO is not an issue or hangup.

By Public Reviewer, 11 months ago

CareerPlug has unlimited PTO for full-time staff.

By Public Reviewer, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Public Reviewer, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Public Reviewer, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

Displaying 14 of 33 Ratings

4.8
5 Stars: 26 4 Stars: 6 3 Stars: 1 2 Stars: 0 1 Stars: 0

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

This varies by manager, but never had an experience where I didn't receive genuine feedback that I can take in, absorb and work on.

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

I like that CareerPlug prioritizes weekly 1x1 meetings with managers. These meetings have created a safe space for my manager and me to share feedback with each other on a consistent basis. This also takes the pressure off of quarterly performance reviews - something I used to dread at my last job because I didn't talk to my manager as often.

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

This one is going to vary depending on who the manager is. Some managers are not equipped to manage people and then blame their failure to lead on their employees. When a person thrives under other leaders but then receives nothing but negative critique from another, it seems as though the manager is the one that should be looked at. Everyone at the company should receive the same opportunity to give manager feedback to people who will actually listen and act on it.

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

Some people give feedback automatically, and others will give it if you ask for it. The company shout outs at the end of company meetings are a great way to celebrate other team members.

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

My team is always giving me feedback of how I can improve.

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

I receive formal feedback quarterly but also receive timely feedback as needed.

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

My manager genuinely cares about me as a person and my growth in my career.

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

Every manager I have had at CareerPlug has been beyond amazing at leading people.

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

Not all managers have the right skill set to be efficient people managers. Therefore, getting relevant, actionable feedback, doesn't happen uniformly across the company.

By Public Reviewer, 11 months ago

Managers and subordinates have weekly one-on-one conversations and quarterly discussions involving growth plans, both at work and in life.

By Public Reviewer, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Public Reviewer, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Public Reviewer, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

By Verified Current Employee, 2 months ago

Displaying 10 of 33 Ratings

Help Make JobSage Even Better.

We're just getting started. We’d love to hear what you think so far and how we can do better.